NIAF Scholarship Program
DirectoryScholarship
This is a group of awards reached through one application. Each award inside it has its own rules.
- Award
- $2,500 to $12,000 per award in the current overview. Some named scholarships are renewable for up to four years, but complete continuation conditions are not stated.
- Timeline
- Dec 1, 2026Application opens
- Mar 1, 2027Application and supporting documents due EST
- May 3, 2027Decisions
- How to apply
- Use the NIAF CommunityForce application and an active NIAF membership, including a parent, guardian or grandparent’s membership if applicable. Upload transcript, resume and FAFSA aid report and request recommendation letters. One application matches applicants to eligible named funds; the complete form is behind account access.
- What you'll need
- A separate scholarship application
- Recommendations
- Membership in the sponsoring organization
- Required financial-aid forms (check the program's rules)
- Who can apply
- For fall 2027, general criteria include full-time enrollment at a U.S.-accredited institution, U.S. citizenship or permanent residency, active NIAF membership and interest in Italian culture and heritage. Most funds require a 3.5 GPA, but exceptions and pass-fail students are allowed. Named funds add ancestry, gender, major, state, college, financial-need or study-abroad restrictions; check the specific scholarship.
- Good to know
- All named fund descriptions on the Available Scholarships page were read. Donald Mazzoni allows a 3.0 GPA; Martini/Villanova allows 3.25. The Sal Catanese incoming-freshman funds are renewable up to four years, with full renewal rules not stated. Some specialized international or study-abroad funds require clarification against the general U.S. citizenship and enrollment rules.
- Details
- Need considered